Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

June 12, 2023

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below. Please note that the seats listed in this media release are those that are currently vacant, those for which a vacancy will exist, or those whose terms will expire in 2024. The media release announcing vacancies in the newly created seats as per Act 232 of 2022, will follow on Monday, July 3, 2023 (pending funding by the General Assembly).

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Donald W. Beatty, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, upon his retirement on or before July 31, 2024. The successor will serve the new term of that office, which expires July 31, 2034.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Jerry Deese Vinson, Jr., Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 8, will expire June 30, 2024.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable David Garrison "Gary" Hill, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 9, upon his election to the Supreme Court, Seat 4. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Ralph Ferrell Cothran, Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, Third Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2024. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Kristi Fisher Curtis, Judge of the Circuit Court, Third Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Michael S. Holt, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2024.

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Patrick Dennis, Counsel A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Deandre Gist Benjamin, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fifth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon her appointment to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2025.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Daniel McLeod Coble, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fifth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2024.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable J. Derham Cole, Judge of the Circuit Court, Seventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2024. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2025.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Grace Gilchrist Knie, Judge of the Circuit Court, Seventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Eugene C. Griffith, Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, Eighth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Bentley Douglas Price, Judge of the Circuit Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable R. Scott Sprouse, Judge of the Circuit Court, Tenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable William Paul Keesley, Judge of the Circuit Court, Eleventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Walton J. McLeod, IV, Judge of the Circuit Court, Eleventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Michael G. Nettles, Judge of the Circuit Court, Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2024.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Letitia H. Verdin, Judge of the Circuit Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon her election to the Court of Appeals, Seat 2. The successor will serve the new term of that office, which expires June 30, 2030.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Alex Kinlaw, Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 4, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2024. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Robert Bonds, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2024.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Edward W. "Ned" Miller, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 4, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2024. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2027.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable David Craig Brown. Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 8, upon his retirement on or before July 1, 2023. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2027.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Alison Renee Lee, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 11, upon her retirement on May 16, 2023. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2026.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Donald Bruce Hocker, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 16, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2024. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2025.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Wayne M. Creech, Judge of the Family Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 4, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2023. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2025.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Jack A. Landis, Judge of the Family Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 6. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Edgar H. Long, Judge of the Family Court, Tenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2025.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Thomas H. White, IV, Judge of the Family Court, Sixteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before July 1, 2024. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Ralph King "Tripp" Anderson, III, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable W. H. Porter, Master-in-Equity of Florence County, will expire March 1, 2024.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate, including judges seeking reelection, must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Note that an email will suffice for written notification. Note that according to SC Code § 2-19-20(C), no person may concurrently seek more than one judicial vacancy.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov or (803) 212-6689